October 21, 2017

Presidential race hots up

Who will be the next President of India ? A big question, as all the parties have now initiated deliberations and coming up with names of their choicest candidates. The Presidential elections are to be held on the 17th July 2017 and the counting of votes will be on the 20th July 2017. The process of nominations starts on the 14th June 2017 with 28 June being the last day for nominations. With this in mind all the political parties have geared up to reach a consensus for their candidates. The BJP all India President Sh Amit Shah has formulated a three member committee to look into this and liaise with all the non NDA, and the opposition parties to evolve a consensus for the candidate. This committee consists of Union Minister Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitely, and Venkaiah Naidu. On the other hand the nine non NDA parties have come together to form a sub group to arrive at a consensus on an opposition candidate for the presidential election. The Opposition panel comprises Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge from the Congress, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, JD(U) veteran Sharad Yadav, NCP leader Praful Patel, Trinamool Congress’ Rajya Sabha floor leader Derek o’Brien, SP leader Akhilesh Yadav, BSP’s Satish Chandra Mishra, RJD leader Lalu Prasad and DMK’s RS Bharathi. The names likely to figure in this meeting are those of Sh Gopal Krishna Gandhi, the grandson of late Mahatma Gandhi, and that of Miera Kumar a former speaker of the assembly. The opposition is adopting a wait and watch policy, to see who the ruling party candidate would be. In case no consensus is reached between the ruling party and the opposition then it is going to be a closely contested election for the top post of the country. The term of  HE Sh Pranab Mukherjee ends on the 24th July 2017.

About The Author

Senior editor with Himsamachar

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *